Image
image
image
image


School Social Workers

School Social Workers are available at every school as a resource for families, students and teachers.  Their main role is to develop and maintain relationships with students, families, school staff, and community resources. 

Social workers join with families and schools to meet the needs of students and help ensure success at school.  Unlike child protection workers, school social workers do not investigate allegations of child abuse or neglect.  They consult with the educational team in areas of social-emotional learning, mental health diagnosis and treatment, behavioral management strategies and community resources.  School social workers also provide direct services to students in one-on-one or small group settings to help build the skills that students need to succeed at school.

School Social Workers are licensed by the Colorado Department of Education and supervised by the SJBOCES Director of Special Education. Please visit https://www.cde.state.co.us/cdesped/rs-ssw to learn more about School Social Workers in Colorado.


If you need information or resources in the SJBOCES community, please visit our Community Resource Guide for contact information on services in Durango, Ignacio, Bayfield, Silverton and Pagosa Springs: www.sjboces.org/community.htm.

For parents of kids with disabilities or special needs, you might be interested in the Parent-to-Parent of Colorado organization: www.p2p-co.org/.


If you have any questions or would like more information, please contact the social worker at your child’s school.

Catherine Anliker
Cell: 970-903-7147
Email: canliker@sjboces.org
Dove Creek School District
Battle Rock Charter
Mesa Elementary
Montezuma-Cortez High
Southwest Open School

Diane Dettloff
Cell: 970-570-9673
Email: ddettloff@sjboces.org
Kemper Elementary
Manaugh Centerbase
Manaugh Elementary
Manaugh New Wings
Mancos School District

Cathy Holland, LCSW
Cell: 970-769-2188
Email: cholland@sjboces.org
Archuleta County (Pagosa Springs) School District

Ashley Howell
Cell: 970-560-0453
Email: ahowell@sjboces.org
Dolores School District
Kiva Elementary
Lewis-Arriola Elementary
Pleasant View Elementary
Cortez Middle

Jessica Keitz
Cell: 970-903-9759
Email: jkeitz@sjboces.org
Ignacio School District

Erica Keter
Cell: 970-692-4104
Email: eketer@sjboces.org
Bayfield School District
Silverton School District

Sarah Schreiber
Cell: 970-570-9021
Email: sschreiber@sjboces.org
Animas Valley Elementary
Florida Mesa Elementary
Sunnyside Elementary
Escalante Middle

Faith Standifer, MSW
Cell: 970-749-5863
Email: fstandifer@sjboces.org
Riverview Elementary
Miller Middle

Royce Tranum, LCSW
Cell: 970-749-6052
Email: rtranum@sjboces.org
Big Picture High
Denier Youth Services
Durango High/Phoenix Program
Pathways to Independence
Southwest Colorado eSchool


image
image